Posted on

Learning Time

I got a phone call from Emily last night.  Sometimes she is so lucky, God.  How amazing.  She’s going to Sunday School this week and every week because she has question she wants to know about you.  She and Jazz and Uncle Paul – all of them are going.  Emily wants to understand more about God and Uncle Paul says it’s time they all did and that Auntie Lisa wanted them to too and that was it.

God, why is my Dad so against you when Emily’s Dad will let her go to Sunday School just to find out stuff?  I don’t think that’s very fair.  Why won’t you make my Dad let me go to Sunday School too?  Please, will you do that?

Dad found my Bible last night.  He took it off me and said that it was junk and that I should be reading better things.  Thank you that Jonah brought me a Bible today from his Mum with easy words.  I told him about Dad taking my Bible last night.  He told me that God’s timing is pretty clever.  He said that once when he was living overseas his last pair of warm shoes that fit – cos he was growing awfully fast – got busted and it was too cold to go anywhere without shoes on and then his next pair which had been lost in the post turned up the next day.  When I told him about Emily, he was really excited and didn’t get at first why I wasn’t.

But then he promised that on Mondays he would bring his lessons from Sunday to school and show me what they learnt every week.  That’s pretty cool of him.  Still, I really wish I could go.

Maybe one day Dad will let me.

Dear God,

Please help Dad not be mad about you all the time.  I want him to love you too.  And I want Mum and Callum to be Christians as well.  Will you do that, God?  Please?  All of them?  Please make him let me go to Sunday school.  And help me find a new place to hide my new Bible where Dad won’t find it.

Amen.

About alcianajohns

I am a Christian. I have been for 15 years, so you'd think I'd have some things nailed by now. But that's not how it works. I think the longer you're a Christian, the more aware you become of just how fragile righteousness is, how far short of it you fall and how much greater God is because he takes those of us who've come to him anyway. I'm in my 30's - and that's all I'll say ... I'm NOT old and I'm not wise and I'm not humble. And I'm single and I don't care about that either - most of the time. I love stories, people and lots of other stuff as well as getting my own way. Don't we all? The name I was given at birth means 'strong minded'. Sometimes I am. Sometimes people might say the opposite - like if there's chocolate or warm, fresh bread in the room ... I love music, play cello & drums. I enjoy making things. I like the cricket, think footy is ok and golf is a bore. I don't get tennis, but I think I could like it if I wanted to. Great & godly guys are hot. Rude guys are off. And I don't get what's so cute about a butt. I'm never sure what to write about myself, but that'll do. The Secret of Alciana Johns Alciana Johns is a fictional character - just don't tell her that. She has been crafted by the author to reflect an experience of Christian life in the modern world. Her thoughts, responses to life and her experiences do not necessarily reflect the author's own. (c) Alciana's journal remains copyright property of the author

Please share your thoughts too