A Simple Song and Amazing Grace

We pulled it off.  Emily and I pulled it off.  Well – God pulled it off, Emily and I just got the idea and asked and prayed.  Hard.

We are learning songs with words about God.  I can learn things by doing my music practice all I have to do is learn the words and then I can say them to myself while I’m practicing.  Emily picked out Amazing Grace – which I’ve never heard all of before – I had to get a dictionary out to look up some of the words.  My dictionary is getting a lot of work lately between that and Bible reading.  She also picked another song that’s a bit trickier to play and to figure out the words for out of one of Auntie Alciana’s books.  Here’s the words for that one:

Stronger, wiser, fuller, kinder

more gracious, more humble, more great.

All knowing, all present, all powerful, all God.

Father, King, brother, immortal incarnate.

Where shall I stand when I enter the gates?

Shall I bow? Shall I greet?  Shall I flee?

Shall I fall to my knees as I cast my eyes down

and ask, “Why did you bother with me?”

All seeing, all knowing, invisible God

who sees all my heart, all my ways –

How does thou not mock, not reject, not despise?

How can thou show such a child undeserved grace?

All gracious, all powerful and all loving God

May your praises resound through the earth!

All mighty, all serving and all ruling God

You exchanged my foul heart for Christ’s worth.

All glory, all thanks and all worship belong

at your feet; All honour before you!

May I humble myself to walk in your ways,

speak your truth and let you shine through.

Thanks God for a great day.  Please let me keep playing songs with words that I can learn from.

Amen